Meriam Ibrahim: My baby is disabled because I gave birth with my legs chained

Meriam Ibrahim: My baby is disabled because I gave birth with my legs chained

PUMABydesign001's Blog

meriam-ibrahim-540x316 and babyTelegraph.co.uk

TheSudanese woman who gave birth in a Khartoum prison with her legs in chains has said that her baby daughter is disabled as a result of her treatment.

Meriam Ibrahim, 27, was sentenced to hang for apostasy on May 15, when she was heavily pregnant with her second child. Less than a fortnight later she gave birth to Maya – but the prison authorities refused to remove the shackles on her legs.

‘I gave birth chained,’ she said, in her first description of the May 27 birth.

‘Not cuffs – but chains on my legs. I couldn’t open my legs so the women had to lift me off the table. I wasn’t lying on the table.

When asked whether she was frightened that giving birth in such conditions could harm her baby, she said: ‘Something has happened to the baby.’

She explained that her daughter had been left…

View original post 67 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meriam Ibrahim: My baby is disabled because I gave birth with my legs chained

  1. Pingback: BPI reblog Daily Archives: July 4, 2014 | Boudica BPI Weblog

Leave a Reply

